Three Researchers Named to American Association for the Advancement of Science

The Cathedral of Learning

Three University of Pittsburgh researchers have been named to the American Association for the Advancement of Science 2019 fellowship cohort. 

Kathryn Albers, a professor in the Department of Neurobiology in the School of Medicine, was recognized for accomplishments in molecular and cellular neuroscience, including studies of sensory neuron development and its relation to nerve injury and pain. 

Tao Han, distinguished professor of high energy physics in the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the Kenneth P. Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, was recognized for contributions to understanding physics beyond the standard model, specifically his work at high energy particle accelerators. 

Rob Rutenbar, senior vice chancellor for research in the Office of the Chancellor, was recognized for contributions to tools for the design of custom integrated circuits and systems, as well as novel architectures for curricula in computer science and engineering.

In February, the fellows will be honored during the 2020 AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle.

Kathryn Albers, Tao Han and Rob Rutenbar.